AN ANCIENT picture of Station Street, around the turn of the century, looking very different to how we see it today.
This week’s Memory Lane picutres have all come from Mrs Valerie Hampson from Cullen Avenue who inherited a large collection of old pictures showing the Derbyshire area as it used to be from her sister in law Barbara Stevenson, who lived in Ashbourne but died in 1999.
Station Street, as its name suggests, brought traffic from some of the main routes to Ashbourne’s railway station which was lost forever in the 1960s. The site is now occupied by the leisure centre but much of the former line, which ran to Buxton, is survived by the popular Tissington Trail.
ALSO this week we have two views from Mrs Hampson’s collection of two of the town’s best-known streets. Both images were postcards and show very different street scenes, each taken from a similar view point.
In one, showing a grainy view down St John Street taken from its junction with Church Street, we can see plenty of landmarks we recognise - the Green Man Royal Hotel’s iconic gallows sign for one example.
Also of note is the width of the street, which was expanded many years ago by taking away building frontages.
OUR third picture, which is taken from almost exactly the same spot, shows Church Street, decorated for what appears to be the celebration of Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubilee in 1887.
The shop dominating the foreground, to the left of the picutre, is now occupied by the long-established electrical store Corner House. Although businesses and homeowners in the area have been and gone, the fiercely protected frontages of Church Street have changed little over time.